Youth Sports

  • Dodgers are Minor League champs

    The Dodgers were the Minor League champs at Gateway Park this season in the Little League division for 9-10-year-olds.
    Members include Lucas Calhoun, Adam Price, Colt Sharp, Hunter Emerson, Cade Reed, Nate Ratliff, Steven Calhoun, Haden Bastin, Zachary Todd and Nicklas Miller. Coaches were Skipper Todd and Jon Bastin.

  • Recent legislation changes coaching requirements

    Recent bills passed by the Kentucky Legislature have changed the requirements for coaches within school districts. Most notably, House Bill 383 waived the 64 semester hours of college requirement and replaced it with other trainings allowing for a person to become a certified coach.
    The bill, passed in 2009, has already shifted the middle and high school coaching climates. The legislation stemmed from school districts and athletic directors struggling to find coaches who met the requirements.